Ready for winter

We spent two days visiting with Linda and Cliff in Yantis;  the weather was very nice for November.  We sat out on their deck and enjoyed the sunshine, watched the ducks and pelicans on the lake, and talked and talked.  Thursday we broke camp and headed south again.

We rolled on down the road looking at the last of the hills as we headed toward the coastal plain.  We spent the night just south of Waco, and Friday we passed Austin and San Antonio and finally reached Corpus Christi around 3:30 in the afternoon.

I was stationed here at NAS Corpus Christi in the early 1970s and I haven’t been back since.  To say that it has changed is an understatement.  It will be fun to drive around and see what it looks like now.

We have found a nice little campground in Flour Bluff, on the eastern side of Corpus Christi.  We got a campsite facing the east; this morning we looked out our windshield and watched the sun rise over the Laguna Madre while we drank our coffee.  I think we are going to like it here.  There was a fish fry/pot luck at the campground tonight, and we met several of our new neighbors.  All the fish were caught by the campground owner, there were red fish and speckled trout.

The last couple of days my computer has been being a real pain, crashing and re-crashing before it could even get completely booted up.  We considered getting it fixed, but it was new when Windows XP first came out, so even if it was repaired, it would be a slow, old relic.  So I bit the bullet and went to Best Buy today and got a nice, new hp.  It’s so pretty and shiney!!!  Now I have to hope my old one hangs in there long enough for me to save my photos and stuff to CDs so I can get it on this one.

🙂

mj

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Roadtrip and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.