AAAaaarrrrrrrgggghhhh!!!!

I have been trying to get all my pictures and documents off of my old computer onto this one with only limited success.  At first I thought I’d copy it onto CDs.  But that is so tedious.  So I tried using a couple of online storage/backup sites.  It took a lot of time and my old pc keeps crashing.   So I bought a Vista book and did some reading and saw that there is a “Easy Transfer Cable” that will connect the two PCs and transfer data over the USB link. Back I went to Best Buy and $30 later I had me a cable and a  little program on a mini disk that gets installed on the old PC.

Easy my ass!!  The instructions leave a lot to be desired.  It says to just load the program and follow the instructions.  Well, after the install program runs, it just quits, leaving the splash screen still on. And the splash screen just has an Install and an Exit button.  I doesn’t say what to do next.  You are just supposed to know that you should Exit and connect the cable.  After waiting several minutes for a my computer to do something, I connected the cable and nothing happened at either end.  So I uninstalled and re-installed the  the program on the old PC again.  That time it worked.  But, of course, my old PC managed to lock up once, shut down once, and go to never-never land twice while I was trying to run the transfer program.   I did mangage to get about 1 gig of data transferred.  All in all, it was a very frustrating evening.

Today we go to get new tires on the Jeep.  That should be easier.  All we have to do is wait while someone else does all the work.

😀

mj

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Roadtrip and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to AAAaaarrrrrrrgggghhhh!!!!

  1. gmwgs says:

    Ohai, I’m planning to get a new laptop soon (what did you get?) I was told that bestbuy will migrate all your stuff for you. maybe a charge, maybe not? but I was wondering about using a good size flashdrive to copy to and then transfer to the new machine? It might not be adequate and it’s going to take time in any case but should be relatively easy. $30 buys a pretty good one now and could be reused instead of the useless program you bought. Just what I’m thinking and I know you know a lot more about it than I.

Comments are closed.