Expedition

When I was a kid in about 5th grade I had to do a research report.  I picked national parks for my subject and wrote to a dozen or so parks.  For the next few weeks I got big manila envelopes in the mail filled with brochures, maps, souvenir post cards and pamphlets.  It was almost as good as Christmas!  I loved getting all the beautiful color pictures of faraway places.  I wanted desperately to visit all of them.  But the one that I wanted to visit most of all was Carlsbad Caverns.

In the years since, I have visited many of the parks: Yellowstone, Mamoth Cave, The Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest, Death Valley, Mount Rushmore, the Painted Desert, Grand Teton, Zion Canyon, Bryce Canyon and others.  But Carlsbad Caverns eluded me.  Until this fall.  While we were in New Mexico we took a day to explore the monster cave.

It is amazingly huge.  We took the self-guided tour of the the “Big Room.”  “Big” is an understatement . . . . . it is roughly the equivalent of 14 football fields.  Richard had a bit of trouble walking the whole trail and took the shortcut while I ventured down to the far end of the loop.

Without further ado, some pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Roadtrip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Expedition

  1. catena says:

    Great pictures! Love the National Parks! “Bought” several people Yellowstone wolves this Christmas.

  2. OnleeKitteh says:

    You iz braver dan me – going in da cave. Ai cannawt go intu small places like caves – gibes me da heebeejeebies.

  3. poussinboi says:

    Carl’s Good Caves, I would say 😉

Comments are closed.