Turtle Update

Bud has been busy wrangling baby turtles again this week.  One on Monday, two on Tuesday, four on Wednesday, none on Thursday and four again today. That brings our total to about 26.  Of course, he doesn’t think of it as saving the babies.  He sees them as toys to bat around.  😉 Once he finds them, I pick them up and put them in my pocket.  After Bud’s walk is over, I put him in the house and then I hop on the golf cart and take the turtles to the river to launch.  (Bud doesn’t like the golf cart.)   Today, I felt a bit of dampness on my pants and looked to see what was up with that.  A turtle had peed in my pocket!!! Just a little drop of wetness.  🙄

Why save baby snapping turtles?  Why not just let nature take its course? Well, because so many got run over on the campground road.  That isn’t nature, that is people affecting nature.  So I help a few to the river.  I figure maybe one out of every 10 I get to the river might survive into adulthood.

Here are a couple of pictures of Bud poking around on one of his walks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Cats, Roadtrip. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Turtle Update

  1. Ann Azevedo says:

    Reminds me of a parable I read once. A bunch of dying starfish were dehydrating on a beach. A couple of people were there. One picked up a starfish and tossed it back into the ocean. The other person said, “Look at all of them. What does saving one starfish matter?” to which the first person replied “It does to that starfish.”

  2. Griffyn says:

    Bud is beautiful…what a happy contented kitty. He’s brought so much to your lives. Congrats on his adopting you both! 😀

  3. 'Niser says:

    Ohai mai cween! *Waybes tu teh soufeest*
    Wutta hansum an smart boi!! Teh turtlolz R berry luckee dat Bud lubs himz naychur woks, aifinkso!

  4. poussinboi says:

    A little “peace” of khama, perhaps? You look after Bud and this is your reward :grin:.
    * That said, he could bring you other rewards, like dead rats…. 🙄 *

  5. emelelka says:

    Oh Bud am a loberly kitteh! I wunner if himz knowz whot a lucky kitteh himz is, livin wif U adn teh King asza fambly.

Comments are closed.