Ancestors

The other day, on a whim, I bought a software package called Family Tree Maker.  It is associated with the website Ancestry.com and includes a 3 month subscription.

I couldn’t believe how simple it is!!  In less than a week I have built a family tree that goes back in places for eleven to fifteen generations!!  I have found ancestors from Ireland, Germany, and England in the 1500s and 1600s.  Including a family (husband, wife and four kids) that came across from England to Massachusetts in Winthorp’s Fleet in 1630.

Granted, I didn’t do any actual research.  Yet.  I just clicked on links and pulled in information that other people had gathered.  Once I have done all the easy stuff, I’ll go back and verify things — like in the families with 2 wives (or husbands) making sure the children are attributed to the proper parents.  And I want to explore the family lines that petered out after five or six generations and see if I can find more people.

So far my family tree looks like this.

It is addictive as all get out.  The first day I had it, I stayed up until five-thirty in the morning collecting people!!  Those little green leaves just kept popping up, enticing me to see what more information was out there.

One of the main reasons I got it was to see if I could find out anything about Richard’s father.  He has no memory of his dad; his mom divorced his dad when he was an infant.  Amazingly, with only his dad’s name I was able to trace his ancestors back to the 1600s in France and Germany.  And, I found out his father passed away in 1971 in Oregon.

Well, that’s what I’ve been up to.  What are you doing?

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ancestors

  1. catena says:

    Wow, that’s neat!

  2. paws4thot says:

    Furry boots in Ireland ur yer peepil fae Cween? Weez R mibbae distant rellytibz!

    • cweenmj says:

      Kud b! Adn I haz deh Cummings blood in mii, but i hazn’t gotted dat line back tu Scotland….. I traced it bak to 1565 in Copford, Essex, England.

      • paws4thot says:

        Ye ken mah reel surname liek; mah Gt Granda’ wha geed me yon wus fae Ireland. 6 o’ t’ ithir 7 ur fae Scotland, and teh last yin’s fae Cornwa’. If ye want maer detail, send us an e-mayo!

  3. SuburbanPrairie says:

    *anxiously awaits Bud’s family tree* 😆

  4. OnleeKitteh says:

    You’re way ahead of me. I haven’t started my “tree” yet, although I joined ancestry.com for 6 months just to see what I would get. I’ve been searching names, creating documents with info & links, printing them out and putting in two notebooks. I have ordered a program to start my tree. My mom’s side has a complete tree of both branches that go back to the 1400’s in Norway. One branch (Roe, but spelled differently there) from the north near Trondheim is still on the original family farm. The other branch (Marvick, also spelled differently there) is from near Bergen. My dad’s side (Walker & Calhoun) is the one I’m doing research on and from what I’ve found (plus some ancestor search done by a 3rd cousin) both branches go back to Scotland (1400’s), then to Ireland (1600’s), then to “the new world” in the early 1700’s. Yes – it definitely is addictive. The more you find, the more you want to find! I’ve also done an ancestral DNA test to confirm which Walker branch I’m in; won’t get the test back till early June.

    • paws4thot says:

      I don’t know about the Norwegian side, having no-one known from there other than a few friends, but what you’re saying about Calhouns and Walkers is all plausible, with the nore that Calhoun isn’t a Scots surname but Walker is.

      • OnleeKitteh says:

        There are many spellings of Calhoun (Colquhoun, Colhoon, Cahoun, and many more) and there was one of my ancestors born in Scotland, immigrated to the U.S. and most of his family killed in a Cherokee attack in South Carolina in 1760. http://www.jstor.org/discover/10.2307/1921317?uid=3739960&uid=2129&uid=2&uid=70&uid=4&uid=3739256&sid=56101588623 One cousin has traced part of the line back to Luss, County of Dumbarton, Scotland in the 1300’s (Colquhoun spelling). Several immigrated to southwestern Ireland because of religious persecution in the mid to late 1500’s, and from there to the U.S. in the late 1600’s/early 1700’s. There’s on-going DNA work to get more complete proof both here and in Ireland and Scotland. There’s also a group of genealogists doing some in-depth DNA work on the Walker lines that came into the U.S. the same way – from Ireland, but from Scotland before, and about the same time periods for the same reasons. Two branches of Walkers were involved in some Cherokee uprisings in northeastern Tennessee in the 1800’s. The two “families” lived in close proximity in the U.S. and some were in the Oklahoma land rush – Walkers from Nebraska & Kansas, Calhouns from Louisiana and Texas. Interesting histories nonetheless.

        • paws4thot says:

          I’d not realised that; Calhoun is an Irish spelling, but Colquhoun is very much Scottish yes. In point of fact I grew up near Luss although I’ve since moved for work.

Comments are closed.