Ancestors

As you know, I have been playing with Family Tree Maker by Ancestry.com  and I figured it was time to let you know some of what I have found. 

Mom used to talk about her family quite a bit so I “knew” several things about my ancestors: 

  • The Steeres were originally from England but went to France to escape religious persecution.  France was where the spelling ‘Steere’ came from.
  • The Cummings clan is from Scotland.
  • The Taylors are from Northern Ireland.

 This is what I found:

  • The Steers arrived in America from northern Ireland, and the spelling was Steer until the children of Joseph Steer added the extra e in teh mid 1700s in Pennsylvania.
  • Our immigrant Cummings ancestor arrived in 1632 from England; and I traced the Cummings line back through several spelling variations, not to Scotland, but to Wales in the 1400s.
  • The Taylors are indeed from Northern Ireland.  They came to Minnesota to escape the Potato Famine in Ireland in 1854.

I have built 4 family trees; one for each of my grandparents: lvsteere, mvpcummings, laschwartz, fwford. If you would like to peruse them can contact me and I will tell Ancestry.com to share them with your email address.  You do not need to have an Ancestry.com account to view them.  

So far I have (as much as possible) traced all lines back at least to the immigrant ancestors. Some I have traced back much farther.  I placed “end” as the name when I could go no further.  If you find someone with no father and/or mother and it doesn’t say “end”, then I just haven’t yet traced that line back any further.  

 Some things to bear in mind when looking at the family trees:

  • I have not done ANY actual paper research.  Most of the info I have is from clicking on the little green leaves and adding the info from other people’s family trees. I have researched some info via various census and other documentary searches on Ancestry.com  There are bound to be mistakes in the data, but it is as logical as I can make it.
  • I have tried to resolve the obvious errors I found.  The common sense rules I employed are:
    • No one under 14 or over 60 giving birth.
    • No one born in Massachusetts before 1620.
    • Children cannot have a birth year before their parents’ birth year.
    • Children cannot have a birth year after their parents’ death year.
  • I have included data from before the year 1000, but I take it as legend, not fact.
  • I have included some, but by no means all, of the siblings of direct ancestors.  In some families you will find duplicate copies of siblings and the occasional extraneous spouse.  There is still a lot of “cleaning up” to do.

I found two ancestral jackpots, one is Grandfather Steere’s side (Perkins line), and one is Grandfather Ford’s side (Lovel line and others).  On both of these there are a myriad of pilgrims who settled in New England in the early 1600s.  If you continue on further back you will reach the Plantagenets, from there the lines run back to William the Conqueror, and then  back to Charlemagne. There are several of William the Conqueror’s knights and his fleet’s Admiral in the trees.   King Henry III is my 24th great grandfather on the Steere side, and my 21st great grandfather on the Ford side.  I am my own cousin. 😉 

Here are some other interesting people I have found in the family trees:

LVSteere Tree: 
FWFord Tree:

I took the DNA test available through Ancestry.com and the results are that I am 82% British Isles, 15% Scandinavian,  3% Uncertain.  I find it odd that even though Dad’s mother was full-blooded German, Northern European doesn’t show up in my DNA.  I always thought I was a Druid.  I guess I really am.

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ancestors

  1. catena says:

    Cool!
    and how interesting!

  2. rae says:

    Wow! Thanks for sharing this very interesting information. I feel inspired. . .

  3. OnleeKitteh says:

    WOW – you’ve done a lot of work. Suggestion: when you start with the census stuff, start with the most recent – 1940 and work back. That way you can double check people, get better estimates on birth years if you don’t have them, see where they lived, what their occupations were, and even plot them on a map for “migration” purposes. Sometimes the right side bars will have historical items related to the person, links to documents – all kinds of stuff you can add for your facts. I have all my mom’s sides (Roe & Marvick) back to the 1400’s, all in Norway. It’s my dad’s side that’s still giving me fits. I can’t get further than early 1700’s for either branch; that is with positive verification (verifying parents names). I know both branches (Calhoun & Walker) did come from Scotland at least as far back as the 1500/1600’s when they went to Ireland because of political & religious occurrences. Then they immigrated to the U.S. in the late 1600’s/early 1700’s. I also did the mtDNA test and mine are 88.22% West Europe (Scandinavia & Great Britain), 10.75% Europe (east central – Russian/Finnish). This fall/winter I’ll get back into more research and see what I come up with. I didn’t click on any of the leaves, but I might do that to see what comes up. It’s really fun, but it sure can become addictive.

Comments are closed.