Sugar Plums

“visions of Sugar Plums danced in their heads”   You’ve heard the poem … probably had it read to you as a kid, probably read it to your kid.  Did you ever have Sugar Plums?

I have an excellent family recipe, Aunt Evie’s Sugar Plums.  Aunt Evie was Mom’s oldest sister.  Here it is:

Melt over hot (not boiling) water: 1 6oz. pkg. semi sweet chocolate bits.  Add 3 tablespoons light corn syrup and ½ cup orange juice.  Combine  2 ½ cups crushed vanilla wafers, ½ cup powdered sugar, 1 cup nuts, finely chopped.  Add the semi-sweet mixture to dry mixture and mix well.  Let stand 30 minutes.  Form into 1 inch balls.  Roll in granulated or pwd. sugar.  Let ripen in covered container several days.  Make 4 ½ dozen.

I made a double recipe today and they are sitting in the cupboard in plastic tubs ripening.

Of course, nobody melts chocolate chips over hot water anymore.  Just put them in the microwave for 30 seconds and stir them, repeat until smooth and creamy.

DSCF3445

I like to use the orange juice with pulp in it; but Mom often used Tang for the orange juice.

DSCF3447

The store was out of Light corn syrup, so I used the Dark this time and it really didn’t seem to make any difference.   Since I was doing a double recipe, my cup wasn’t big enough and I switched to a larger one.  The liquid mixture looks like chocolate soup at this point.

DSCF3449

I’ll save you the time of measuring:  2 ½ cups crushed vanilla wafers is one box full.  I put them through the food processor since I have one now.  But back in the dark ages I used to put them between two layers of waxed paper and beat them to death with a rolling pin .

DSCF3450

Dad used to clean black walnuts for us, but these are store bought English walnuts; although pecans or any other nut would probably be just as good.

DSCF3453

Add the nuts and powdered sugar to the cookie crumbs and stir them all together.  I like to leave the cookie and walnuts with a bit of size to the pieces, some people prefer to grind them super fine.  Suit yourself. Now pour the chocolate soup into the dry mixture and stir everything together until all the crumbs are moistened and coated with chocolate.

DSCF3460

Now let the mixture (and yourself) sit for 30 minutes.  It needs to rest and so do I.    

DSCF3462

After resting, take your rings off. Then use your spatula or spoon to break off roughly tablespoon sized chunks of dough and roll them into balls in your hands.  Roll the balls in sugar and set them on a sheet of waxed paper.

DSCF3465

I never get my sugar plums to be of a uniform size, but no one ever complains.

DSCF3469

This is why you want to take your rings off before you roll the sugar plums.  My hands always get sticky and chocolatey.

DSCF3468

You really do need to let them sit for 5 to 10 days.  The flavor improves so much, it is worth the wait.  So into the tubs they go!  This is an excellent treat to mail to friends and relatives.  The time they spend in the mail is perfect ripening time; and unlike cookies, they don’t break and crumble in the mail.

DSCF3470

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sugar Plums

  1. A Biker Too says:

    Dys maeykkz mai bawlkz ub “Skreeyumun Yelloe Zawnkkyrs” leuk laiyuk pleh, haowebbr, ai izz eetun iyut raiyut naow adn teh Shuggr Pleummz habs tew kyoor sum, ai habs sum preuunz dayut kud taeyk eup seum slaykk doe!!
    {{{{{{{{{{cweenmj maeykks GUD steuffeez}}}}}}}}}}

  2. muchcat says:

    *druuls* Adn is dat sumwun maeking sumfing wiff sower krout in de bakgrownd? Wunst ai maed a chonklit caek wiff sower krout innit, was bery much lyke coconut teksture in de caek and was delish!!

    • cweenmj says:

      yes, Huzbin was fixing supper. We had sauer kraut and polish sausage and mashed taters. I gotta say, smelling the sauer kraut while rolling sugar plums removes all desire to eat the sugar plums. 🙄

      • muchcat says:

        We lubs sauerkaut adn mashy tatos. Ushulee maeks it wiff pork ribs oar chops, onless weer rilly lazy adn jus puts weeners innit. We puts de polish sawsidj in a wun-dish wiff cabbidge adn karrits and cut-up tatos. Husbin maed dat te uvvver nite and it was NOMMY (last time ai maed it ai skorched the @#$^$# out ob it. 😦

  3. Catsablanca says:

    Wayte…wut? Sugar plums am nawt plums??? Ai must sae, chonklit sounz muchlee beddur tahn plums (tho Ai du luv plums). Aifinkso Ai will has tu trai tu maek tehse. Mebbe Ai cna lablol tehm “Schweddy Balls” adn gib tehm tu mai sistur fur Catmas. Fankeez, mai Cween!

    • OnleeKitteh says:

      You know, doncha, dat dere iz/wuz icey creams wif dat name made by Ben & Jerry. 🙂

    • onions and petunias says:

      Wikipedia has a nice history of why these confections are called sugar plums ….

      And, oh, my Cween … I’ll send you my phone number if you think you need a taste tester …

  4. Jenni says:

    Jenni’s take: I always grind the hell out of the walnuts, m’self, because I don’t really like them, and grinding them until the disappear makes it easier for me to forget they’re in there. I also put my chips, OJ and syrup into the measuring cup all together before microwaving; I’ve never burned the chips that way from over microwaving, and the chocolate doesn’t ever separate on me, either. 🙂

Comments are closed.