Relief!

Yesterday I had my nose reamed out.

Short version:

The procedure was successful.  I am resting reasonably comfortably and should be feeling fine in a day or two.

Long   TMI version:

My ENT doctor first gave me some relaxing meds to get me all loopy.  Then he anesthetized my nose by stuffing some medicated cotton up each nostril, followed by injections into my nose similar to the novacaine your dentist uses.   Then they turned the lights out and he ran a lighted probe up my nose to the sinus cavity in my forehead.  Once it was in the proper position, he inflated the balloon and popped the bones to open the passage.  Richard was in the room observing the procedure and he could hear the bone crack and see the cavity open. I could actually feel air going into the sinus!   Then the  procedure was repeated on the left side, and again on each of the other sinus cavities in my face for a total of six openings.

Once all of my sinus cavities were opened, he gave them a saline rinse.  Richard said that when he rinsed the right sinus all kinds of gunk came out.  It felt so good!!

I am not allowed to blow my nose for a few days.  Last night my face hurt all over — forehead, eyebrows, eyeballs, cheeks, nose, literally everything from my upper jaw to the top of my head.  I slept in the recliner so that things would drain.

This morning, the all over ache is gone, but my nose still feels plenty sore.  My left nostril is still bleeding lightly, but I no longer have a gauze pad taped to my upper lip.  And the sinus headache is gone!  YAY!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Relief!

  1. Oh, I’m so thrilled for you! YAAAAAAAAAAAAY for relief! 🙂

  2. Teasel says:

    YAY for success! Sorry you haz the otter pain in teh hed, but it is temporary…and no more allatime hedakes! Happy days.

  3. jamamakitty says:

    breffing can NOT be overrated!! schmooo

  4. ABikerToo says:

    Good for you, cween izz oe kae naow, noe payun tew deeyl wyff enneemoar!!
    {{{{{cweenmj izz beddr}}}}}

  5. Catsablanca says:

    ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♥ ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ *Frows Cweenfetti inna ayr* Ai noes ur nose must feel beddur nao, mai Cween! Sew glad ebbreefing caem owt otay! (Sumbunny had tu sae it.)

  6. yay!!!
    and I must say, I was rather fascinated by the long version 😀

Comments are closed.