Mind Experiment

This week I have started what I consider a mind experiment.  When I was at Barnes & Noble the other day I picked up a book on the sale counter.  It is Hypnotic Gastric Band by Paul McKenna and it intrigued me.  I have been overweight for years.  I hate diets.

The premise is that by listening to the trance on the included CD, your subconscious mind believes you have had a surgical procedure that installed a gastric band.  And if you eat too much you will feel nauseous.   I know that the mind is a very complex entity.  And it can do some amazing things.  But believing you have had a surgery??  Hmmmmm….  that’s a stretch.

In the book, Mr McKenna says that it is ok to be skeptical.  That’s good, because I am very skeptical.

He says there are 4 basic rules to follow:

  1. Eat when you are hungry.  That means not when you are lonely or sad or bored.  That makes sense to me.  I can go along with this.
  2. Eat what you want.  Really???  didn’t eating what I want get me into this shape??  He says that means there are no forbidden foods; no calorie counting; no bad carbs.   Well, ok.  I can not give up pasta or ice cream or cookies.
  3. Eat consciously.  Chew each bite 20 times.  Savor your food.  Don’t eat while watching tv, driving, working on the computer, etc.  I do like to snack in the evenings while I watch tv.  This could be a problem.
  4. Stop eating when you feel full.  In other words, you don’t have to clean your plate.  If you feel full, stop eating.  Sounds simple.  We’ll see.

So I read the book and last night I listened to the CD.  I leaned back in my recliner and turned off the tv so I wouldn’t be distracted.  The CD says it is a trance, but I didn’t feel like I went into a trance.  He talks sometimes in the right ear, and sometimes in the left ear; sometimes he says the same thing in both ears; and sometimes he says different things in each ear.  He said it is ok if you don’t hear or understand everything he says. That’s a good thing, because when he was saying different things in each ear, I couldn’t understand either one.

During the “trance” he describes the surgery and I was visualizing it — entering the hospital, the nurses taking my temp and blood pressure, putting on the hospital gown — but then, being a Brit, he said that I was on the trolley, meaning gurney.  And I, being American, visualized myself climbing onto a street car and whizzing down the road with my hospital gown flying in the breeze, parents covering their children’s eyes.  Before that vision got too out of control, we were in the “theatre” (British for operating room).  Well, ya, I saw myself in a theater watching a movie.   Then he described the surgical procedure.  He also said things like how much I was going to savor my food and I would feel my body change, and have energy and enjoy exercise.  I have never enjoyed exercise.   It’s a good thing he says its ok to be skeptical.

And while he is talking, in his soft, soothing voice, my mind is wandering. I check the clock. I ponder the differences between British English and American English.   Bud comes in and hops up on me demanding pettings.   I wonder what it would be like to be the significant other of a hypnotist…… wouldn’t you go paranoid wondering if you were doing things because you wanted to or because he had planted the seed in your mind??? Richard passes through the room once or twice.  And Topper attacks my left hand.

When I finished listening to the CD, I got up, closed up the house for the night, ate a donut and went to bed.

I’m not sure the hypnosis worked.    My starting weight is 236.4 pounds.  I’ll check back with you in a week or so and let you know what happens.

 

 

About cweenmj

Nom, Play, LOL ;-)
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mind Experiment

  1. Catsablanca says:

    Thanks for the laughs, mai Cween! Seriously, though, you sound a lot like me when it comes to exercise & diets. I was going to wait & see how you did, but I think I’ll jump right in & go buy this. We can encourage each other along the way! My starting weight is…BRB.

    Holy crap! 198…I’ve actually lost some. This is the first time I’ve been below 200 in a long time! Now I’m not sure I want to go eat that donut before I go to bed. I hope this works for you (and me). Emayo me if you want to compare notes. ~Catsablanca/Dena

  2. SuburbanPrairie says:

    Mai Leej *courtseys deeply* Ohai.

    I wouldn’t put it past the human brain to convince itself that the body has had surgery. Keep in mind (*gigglol*), we only utilize 10% of it or less at any given time. And it seems that every time researchers, scientists, doctors, etc. make an advance in learning stuff n things about the brain, it only serves to expose vast things about which we are still quite stoopy.

    That being said, you are a rational person. I think it will take a great long time for you to convince yourself of the whole surgery experience – going to the hospital, your buns in the breeze thanks to a lovely hospital gown, etc. With time, though, I do believe that even you, a highly rational person, could visualize the surgery itself – placing the lapband on your stomach – to the extent that you could believe it on some level. So, my personal suggestion is that you focus on the surgery part of the trance itself, rather than checking into the hospital and all that jazz.

    Lastly, peeps who’ve had surgeries to physically modify their anatomy for the purpose of losing weight (lap band, gastric bypass, etc.) have to follow very specific instructions about how they eat, post-surgery. They have to start with so many weeks of a liquid diet, then so many weeks of a soft diet, then they can finally transition to the way they’ll be eating for the rest of their lives. That last part there is PHENOMENALLY different from anything they’ve ever known in their whole lives! After such surgeries, your stomach will only hold about one tablespoon of food. (this from the National Institutes of Health – http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/patientinstructions/000334.htm) Over time, it may expand to hold about a cup of chewed food, but you really don’t want to try to make it expand, ’cause that negates the whole purpose of the surgery. So you have to make sure you get your 3 oz of protein first, then your veg, then PERHAPS top it off with a carb or two (keeping in mind that the carbs may actually cause you pain). ENNYWEIGH… my point of all of this is, if you’re really going to eat as though you’ve just had lap band or gastric bypass, you’re going from a serving of chicken (3 ounces), plus a serving of brown rice (2/3 cup cooked), plus a serving of green beans (1 cup), plus a small salad (4 ounces), plus 8 ounces of a beverage, plus perhaps a small “something sweet” to top it off, say, a mini Snickers bar…from that to 3 ounces chicken, a bite of green beans, a bite of salad, half a bite of rice, 8 ounces of water, and go sit in your recliner and concentrate on keeping it down.

    And that’s why I, personally, will not have weight loss surgery. However, thousands of people have, and it’s saved their lives, and they’re now living healthier and happier than they ever have. I’m thrilled for them! I just know that I don’t have that level of commitment.

    Have I taken up enough of your blog yet? ‘Cause I could take up s’more (mmmmm s’mores), if you’d like… *snert*

    • cweenmj says:

      Hmmmmmm…. s’mores!!! 😀

      I have noticed that I am eating smaller portions. Not a bad thing. But definitely not the tiny portions an actual gastric band patient would have.

  3. SuburbanPrairie says:

    Smaller portions are a great way to go. If you’re interested, this book is a FANTABULOUS reference to learn what a “normal” portion size is for different foods. I was very surprised to learn I had been eating triple, quadruple portions on a regular basis. Supersize me! 😦

    amzn.to/1oKwY3y

  4. onleekitteh says:

    I can see “eating when you’re hungry”. Mostly I wait until I start feeling the tummy rumbling near my normal eat times (7 am, 12, and 5-ish pm). But because I’m a recently diagnosed type 2 diabetic I can feel hunger in between meals and am allowed a small snack (string cheese, a few crackers, sugar-free fudgsicle or pudding, fruit). But I’m also having problems giving up peanut butter cookies, chocolate cake, donuts.
    “Eat what you want” – that I can’t agree with – now. I’m watching carbs (15-80 per meal), eating plenty of veggies, very lean meat/fish, sugar-free drinks (soda), adding Splenda to my tea. But I also have to watch portion size.
    “Eat consciously” – I like to read while eating becase for years I’ve been a fast eater (30 min fur lunch at work). Reading while eating makes me slow down my eating so that I might feel full earlier than I would otherwise.
    Exercise? Not so much, but I do like walking and tai chi, no gym stuff for me.
    I’m just as skeptical as you are and am not a good hypnosis subject. Mind over matter? Well, yes, but habits are hard to break. I like to think of making new habits instead of breaking the old ones.

    An almost life-long friend had gastric bypass or lap-band surgery a few years ago and she did really well. It was a life-saver for her, in addition to having less hip and knee pain from the weight gain over the years. I don’t know how much weight she lost, but when I saw her 2 years ago (on visit to my hometown) she appeared to have lost about 100+ pounds from when I saw her in 1997.

Comments are closed.